2012 Gunsynd Classic – Nominations Announced

April 24th, 2012

Nominations have been released for the Group 3 Gunsynd Classic, which is due to run at Eagle Farm racecourse this Saturday April 28, 2012.

29 horses have nominated for a run in the race, including Gerald Ryan’s Angel Of Mercy.

The three-year-old filly has won one of her seven race starts and has earned more than $68,000 in prize money during her short career.

Angel Of Mercy finished sixth in her last start in the Listed PJ Bell Stakes at Canterbury Racecourse on April 13, 2012, after finishing seventh in the Group 2 Kewney Stakes in her previous start.

Prior to that, Angel Of Mercy placed third in the Group 3 The Vanity at Flemington behind Shopaholic and Mosheen.

Angel Of Mercy was purchased for $180,000 from the 2010 Gold Coast Yearling Sale and is now trained at Rosehill Racecourse by Gerald Ryan.

Also included in the 2012 Gunsynd Classic is Peter Moody’s Huegill.

Huegill has won two of his 11 race starts and has earned close to $150,000 in prize money.

The three-year-old colt finished 14th in the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes last start and will be looking to get his form back when he competes in the 2012 Gunsynd Classic.

The More Than Ready colt had his best Group results when placing third in both the Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude for colts and geldings in 2011 and the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas last spring.

Peppered Black and Boys On Tour are also included in the 2012 Gunsynd Classic nominations.

Get ready for this year’s Gunsynd Classic by opening an account with our favourite online bookmaker bookmaker.com.au today.

bookmaker.com.au, which is the only way to bet online, is offering new customers with a bonus bet worth up to $300.

Just open an account today, enter the promo code BONUSBET and bookmaker.com.au will reward you with a bonus bet that is equal to 100% of your initial stakes when you deposit between $25 and $300 into your new account.

So open a bookmaker.com.au account and claim your bonus bet today!

2012 Gunsynd Classic Nominations

No. Horse Trainer
1 AMETSIS Russell Cameron
2 ANGEL OF MERCY Gerald Ryan
3 ARCTIC Brian Smith
4 BOYS ON TOUR John P Thompson
5 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody
7 GOLDSLICK Liam Birchley
8 HUEGILL Peter G Moody
9 JACK’S BACK Kevin Kemp
10 MANZANO Bryan Guy
11 MARGINS Ben Currie
12 MASKELYNE Tracey Bartley
13 MEGHALAYA Tracey Bartley
14 NO MORE BULL Lindsay Gough
15 NOISY OCEAN Bryan Guy
16 O’GRADY (NZ) Brett Baker
17 OUTBACK GRANDE Michael Nolan
18 PEACE TALKS Mark F Webb
19 PEPPERED BLACK Lawrie Mayfield-Smith
20 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson
23 RETUNE David Kelly
24 ROCKET BOOTS Tony Gollan
25 SLYSERA Ron Macrae
26 TRUMP Robert Heathcote
27 VACALLO (NZ) Robert Heathcote
28 VOODOO BLACK MAGIC Jeffrey Caught
29 VORTEX Howard Wilson